» Society » WSSA Committees » Federal Noxious and Invasive Weeds Committee

The Federal Noxious and Invasive Weed Committee (E4) shall:

(currently operating jointly with W13 Weed Alert Committee and W16 Biological Control of Weeds Committee)

  1. Consist of a Chair appointed to a four-year term and 11 other members each appointed for four-year terms.
  2. Review federal legislation as it relates to weed science activities and make recommendations regarding changes in the federal weed laws.
  3. Review drafts of laws for enactment by Congress and make recommendations for strengthening preventative weed technology.
  4. Serve in an advisory capacity in the development of state noxious weed programs and regulations.
  5. Serve in an advisory capacity to USDA-APHIS, PPQ in the listing of noxious weed species and other actions regarding the enforcement of the Federal Noxious Weed Act.
  6. Submit their findings to the WSSA Executive Committee for review and concurrence.

Committee Members:
Board Liaison: President-Elect, Larry Steckel (contact: lsteckel@utk.edu)
Committee Chair: Rob Richardson (contact: rob_richardson@ncsu.edu)

Name Affiliation End of Term
Richardson, Rob S 2019
Renz, Mark NC 2019
Byrd, John S 2019
Madsen, John W 2019
Ferrell, Jay A 2019
Turnage, Gray S 2019
Crossland, Jeremy A 2019
Van Wychen, Lee Ex-off EDSP

Comments are closed.