» Society » WSSA Committees » Science Policy Committee

The Science Policy Committee (E2) shall:

  1. Consist of the President-elect, President, and Past President of WSSA and a member appointed by each of the contributing regional weed science societies (preferably their Legislative and Regulatory Committee Chairs and President as backup). The members from regional societies should serve two-year terms, staggered, so that two regional society members rotate off every year. The regional societies may name alternates who will serve in the absence of their regular member of the committee. The Chair of the Legislative and Regulatory Committee will serve as Chair of the Washington Liaison Committee. The Chair of the WSSA. Resolutions Committee shall serve as an ad hoc member. The Aquatic Plant Management Society President will be allowed to call the Director of Science Policy at any time. Budget for this committee is $5,000.
  2. Be the primary means of communication between the Washington liaison and WSSA and the regional weed societies.
  3. Be the means by which WSSA and regional science societies interact with their Washington D.C. liaison. Their function will be to communicate to the Washington Liaison needs and tasks desired by the contributing societies and to respond to the liaison’s requests for information and materials needed to accomplish those tasks. To do this, the committee will:
        1. take part in quarterly and other conference calls with the Washington liaison;
        2. provide and continually update a rapid response list of contacts (phone tree) for the Washington liaison;
        3. provide position papers, resolutions, reports, videotapes, expertise, and other materials to the Washington  liaison;
        4. inform the Washington liaison of the needs of WSSA in a timely fashion;
        5. rapidly respond to requests from the Washington liaison for information and personnel; and
        6. provide and update quarterly a plan of work for the  Science Policy Committee.
        7. Yearly review the accomplishments and performance of the Washington liaison and make recommendations accordingly. This review should be done at the Board Meeting during the annual meeting of WSSA.

Committee Members:
Board Liaison: Past-President, Kevin Bradley (contact: BradleyKe@missouri.edu)
Committee Chair: Donn Shilling (contact: dgs@uga.edu)

Name Affiliation End of Term
Shilling, Donn S 2018
Bhowmik, Prasanta NE 2017
Smeda, Reid NC 2018
Palmer, Eric S  2017
Richardson, Rob A 2018
Madsen, John W 2018
Nichols, Bob S 2018
Post, Angela S 2018
Leary, James W 2017
McFarland, Janis President 2017
Bradley, Kevin Past-president 2017
Anderson, Monte Member-at-Large
Barrett, Michael EPA SME
Shaw, David Chair S-71
Schroeder, Jill Member-at-Large
Coble, Harold Member-at-Large
Kells, James CAST
Senseman, Scott Pres-elect
Armel, Greg ex-off NEWSS
Richardson, Rob ex-off APMS
Dotray, Peter ex-off SWSS
Howatt, Kirk ex-off WSWS
Dille, Anita ex-off NCWSS
Van Wychen, Lee ex-off DSP

Comments are closed.