» Society » WSSA Committees » Weed Loss Committee

The Weed Loss Committee (E11) shall:

  1. Consist of a Chair appointed to a three-year term and three members, each appointed to a five-year term.
  2. Determine the reduced monetary value due to the influence of weeds of crops grown in the United States and Canada.
  3. Establish the percent reduction of yield caused by weeds of crops grown within each state or province.
  4. Obtain the average yield values for each of the crops grown within a state or province.
  5. Obtain a market value for each of the crops and determine the dollar value of the weed mediated losses.
  6. Compile the monetary loss value by state, province, region, and country.
  7. Update the report at least every five years.
  8. Determine the most troublesome weeds in major crops grown in each state or province.
  9. Determine the most troublesome herbaceous and woody plants in non-crop areas, forests, and rangelands by region, state, or province.
  10. Update these data at least every five years.
  11. Collect published references that deal with losses from weeds and systematically list these in a computer file by author(s), title, and source.  Additional information will include crop and weed species and subject area.
  12. Develop and submit for publication a Weed Loss Bibliography with cross-referenced indices generated by author, crop, weed, and subject.

Committee Members:
Board Liaison: SWSS Representative, John Byrd (contact: jdb4@msstate.edu)
Committee Chair: Anita Dille (contact: dieleman@ksu.edu)

Name Affiliation End of Term
Dille, Anita NC 2020
Burke, Ian W 2020
Flessner, Michael NE 2020
Senseman, Scott S 2020
VanGessel, Mark NE 2020
Davis, Vince NC 2023
Everman, Wes S/NE 2023
Sikkema, Peter C 2023
Soltani, Nader W 2023

Comments are closed.