Submitted by Steve Pyle, NEWSS Representative to WSSA 18 February 2022

2022 NEWSS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OFFICERS

President - Jacob Barney - <u>inbarney@vt.edu</u> President Elect - Wes Everman - <u>wes_everman@ncsu.edu</u> Vice President - Erin Hitchner - <u>erin.hitchner@syngenta.com</u> Treasurer - Larissa Smith - <u>larissa.smith@syngenta.com</u> Past President – Caren Schmidt - <u>caren.schmidt@basf.com</u>

COMMITTEES AND REPRESENTATIVES

CAST Representative - Anthony Witcher - <u>awitcher@Tnstate.edu</u> Editor - Lane Heimer - <u>lane.heimer@maryland.gov</u> Graduate Student Representative – Eric Jones – <u>eajone22@ncsu.edu</u> Membership Chair – Matt Elmore – <u>Matthew.Elmore@ rutgers.com</u> Public Relations Chair - John Kaminski - <u>kaminski@psu.edu</u> Research and Education Chair – Carolyn Lowry - <u>cvl5836@psu.edu</u> Sustaining Membership Chair – John Wallace - <u>jmw309@psu.edu</u> WSSA Representative – Steve Pyle – <u>steve.pyle@syngenta.com</u>

The 76th Annual Meeting of the NEWSS was planned as an in-person meeting in Gettysburg, PA during the week of 4-Jan. Because of a surge in COVID cases throughout the US and newly enacted travel bans, the in-person meeting was cancelled on 22 Dec with less than two weeks until the planned start date. The Board decided there was not sufficient time to plan a virtual meeting in the midst of the holidays. Plans are now being made for student presentations before the NEWSS Weed Contest on 26 July. Slots will be offered first to those that submitted talks/posters for the Annual Meeting and then would be offered to other interested presenters if time allowed. Virtual options for those unable to travel to Canada or participate in the Weed Contest are being explored.

Following are NEWSS award winners presented during the Virtual Awards Program of the 76TH Annual Meeting on 4 Jan 2022:

NEWSS Fellow Award, Dr. Rakesh S. Chandran, West Virginia University

NEWSS Award of Merit, Dr. Jerry J. Baron, IR-4 Project

Outstanding Researcher Award, Dr. Matthew Elmore, Rutgers University

Outstanding Educator Award, Dr. Michael Flessner, Virginia Tech

Robert D. Sweet Outstanding Graduate Student – M.S., Brandon McNally, Rutgers University

Robert D. Sweet Outstanding Graduate Student – Ph.D., Vasiliy Lakoba, Virginia Tech

M. Garry Schnappinger Service Recognition Award, Baylee L. Carr, Rutgers University

The *NEWSS Futures Committee* was formed in February of 2021 by Past President Art Glover and the 2021 Board of Directors to critically evaluate the functioning of the Society and advise the Board on future directions. The following objectives were asked of the Committee:

- Is the stated mission of the NEWSS still appropriate?
- Is the activity of the NEWSS in line with its stated mission?
- What changes should NEWSS enact to improve its relevance and utility?

Hilary Sandler was charged as Chair of the *Futures Committee* with cross-membership representation across academia and industry. Virtual meetings were held throughout 2021 and a comprehensive list of recommendations were made to the 2022 Board for consideration. Board members will discuss and consider recommendations at the next Board meeting on 29 March.

The 2022 NEWSS Weed Contest is being planned at the Syngenta Honeywood Research Center in Guelph, ON Canada on 27 July. The Honeywood site was the original venue planned for 2020 and 2021 prior to being postponed because of COVID restrictions. An alternate venue is being explored in the US if COVID protocol prevents travel to Canada in 2022.