2011 WSSA Committee Progress Report February, 2012

Committee Code and Name: W3 Awards Parent Committee

Committee Chair: Dwight Lingenfelter

Committee Members: (12 sub-chairs and numerous members)

Board Coordinator: Ralph Whitesides/Peter Porpiglia

Committee Members Rotating Off/Vacancies:	Suggested Replacements:
Parent committee: C. Mallory-Smith (W, W3h)	?
W3a: J. Griffen (S)	
W3a: P. Sikkema (C)	
W3c: P. Tranel (NC)	
W3d: Vacant (W, NC, C)	
W3e: ???M. Owen (NC), Chair	M. Owen (NC)
W3e: Vacant (NC)	
W3g: L. Hall (C), Chair	H. Sandler (NE)
W3h: R, Hayes (S)	
W3h: J. Schroeder (W)	
W3i: Vacant (NE, NC)	
W3j: P. Sikkema (C)	
W3j: P. Westra (W)	
W3k: P. Cavers (C)	
W3k: W. Dyer (W)	
(According to my records the above have completed their term. Let me know if there are discrepancies.)	

2011 Summary of Activities: (through January, 2012):

- 38 people were recognized with awards and/or grants at the 2011 Annual Meeting
- After annual meeting, Lori Wiles completed her term as Parent Chair. Dwight Lingenfelter assumed the responsibilities and worked with L. Wiles, J. Lancaster, and others during the transition phase
- A Call for WSSA Awards Nominations was posted in the July newsletter and on the website
- Subcommittees successfully selected winners for each of the awards.
 - Names were submitted to M. Barrett to forward to BOD for approval
 - There were no nominations for the Industry Award (W3i)
 - Winners for the Photo Contest, Undergraduate Research Award, and Graduate Student Annual Meeting Grants will be determined before the annual meeting
- Working with J. Lancaster on program booklet and awards presentations during meeting

2012 Plan for Committee Activities:

• Continue to work with the sub-committee chairs and members to identify necessary subcommittee member replacements and ultimately solicit and select worthy and deserving nominations for the 2013 awards and grants

Recommendations for Board/Society Action:

- Clarify in MOPs what is the criteria for awarding the Outstanding Reviewer Awards (W3l)
 - For example, is it to award to the top 2 (or 3) reviewers overall across journals or to give an award to the top reviewer for each journal
 - Some comments from J. Anderson (W3l, Chair) about this issue include:

"Unless someone shows me documentation in the MOP that we are to give 3 awards every year, we should stay at 2 Outstanding Reviewer Awards; unless, as last year, we have a tie for second place and the Award Committee agrees to give three awards. I think it would be a good idea to request a third Reviewer Award for 2012 onward. Particularly if the membership votes to approve IPSM as an official WSSA journal. However, we need to base the three awards on an average ranking of reviews across all three WSSA journals, NOT one award for each journal."

- Include Outstanding Paper in Invasive Plant Sciences and Management (W3?) in the committee listing under Award Parent Committee (W3) and in MOPs
 - MOP Guidelines suggested by current Chair (G. MacDonald) include:

Outstanding Paper in Invasive Plant Science and Management

Each year, the outstanding paper for the journal "Invasive Plant Science and Management will be recognized. This recognition will be the result of a selection process for each calendar year. The selection process will be coordinated through the Editor of the Journal, the associate editors for that year and the Chair of the Outstanding Paper in Invasive Plant Science and Management Journal.

1. The committee shall consist of one member from each of the 5 member societies: the Northeastern Weed Science Society, the Southern Weed Science Society, the North Central Weed Science Society, the Western Weed Science Society and the Canadian Weed Science Society OR the Aquatic Plant Management Society. There will also be a non-voting chair from any of the member societies. Each member will serve a 3-year term with off-setting terms for each member.

2. On or before October 15th of the year prior to the annual meeting, the chair of the committee shall contact the editor of the journal. The editor shall solicit top papers for that year (i.e., the first three volumes of the current year and the 4th volume of the previous year; otherwise the 4th volume is missed) through the associate editors. Each associate editor will be asked to provide an outstanding paper from their assigned papers and provide the title to the committee chair. If the associate editors do not recognize any of their assigned papers to be

outstanding, then no paper will be put forth. However, this shall be communicated to the chair. The editor of the journal may also provide a single paper if they choose.

3. The chair of the committee shall collect the titles of the paper put forth by the associate editors and generate pdf files for each manuscript. These files will then be sent via email to the members of the committee. This shall occur by October 31 of the year prior to the annual meeting.

4. Each member will then carefully review each paper for the following items:

a. Originality of the problem and approach to the research (concept)

b. importance of the research as it contributes to the field of invasive plants

c. clarity and reproduce-ability and applicability of the methods used; also is a novel method used or developed?

d. accuracy of the results, including presentation – tables, graphs, statistics and appropriate discussion

e. conclusions and implications of the research

5. Each member shall rank the papers with one being the best and so on and so forth and submit these rankings to the chair. Through these rankings the chair will determine the top paper (i.e. the paper with the lowest score, based on the lower the number the higher the ranking). In cases of a tie, or multiple ties, these papers will be resent to the committee and asked to rank those papers again. The same process will then be employed to determine the top paper.

6. The top paper will then be communicated to the Parent awards committee chair by no later than December 10th of the year prior to the annual meeting.

(***Lingenfelter notes: We may need to adjust some of these deadlines in this proposal to allow enough time to contact winners, obtain bios/photos, prepare booklets, send notifications, etc. It would be best to have the winners name to the BOD by October 15.)

Current MEMBERS

Chair: Greg MacDonald (I am rotating off – suggest Enloe or Leary)

NE Toni DiTomasso – Cornell University (2009-2010) – he still did this year, suggests Dave Mortensen to replace

NC Roger Becker – University of Minnesota (2009-2011) – rotates off this year

W James Leary – University of Hawaii (2009-2012)

S Stephen Enloe – Auburn University (2009-2012)

C Anne Legere – University of Saskatoon (2009-2010) – I have substituted Lyn Gettys

from APMS - University of Florida, up to new chair to decide on a Canadian rep

Funds Requested: Aside from prizes and plaques, none