# 2010 WSSA Committee Progress Report July, 2010

Committee Code and Name: Western Society of Weed Science

**Committee Chair: Joe DiTomaso** 

**Committee Members, 2010:** 

**Immediate Past President** 

President
President-Elect
Secretary

Chair, Research Section

**Chair, Education and Regulatory** 

Chair-Elect, Research Section Chair-Elect, Education and

Regulatory

Member-at-Large Public Sector

**Member-at-Large Private Sector** 

**CAST Representative** 

Representative for Constitution

and Operating Procedures Webmaster/Web Editor

Treasurer/Business Manager

**Student Liaisons** 

**WSSA Representative** 

Website: www.wsweedscience.org

Jesse Richardson, 760.949.2565, jmrichardson@dow.com Joe DiTomaso, 530.754.8715 jmditomaso@ucdavis.edu Vanelle Peterson, 541.829.4933, vfpeterson@dow.com Rick Boydston, 509.786.9267, rick.boydston@ars.usda.gov Brad Hanson, 530.752.8115, brad.hanson@ars.usda.gov Marvin Butler, 541.475.3808, Marvin.Butler@oregonstate.edu

Joe Yenish, 509.335.2961, <a href="mailto:yenish@wsu.edu">yenish@wsu.edu</a> Tim Prather, 208.885.9236, <a href="mailto:tprather@uidaho.edu">tprather@uidaho.edu</a>

Kassim Al-Khatib, 530.752.8350, <u>kalkhatib@ucdavis.edu</u> Pete Forster, 970.454.5478, <u>pete.forster@syngenta.com</u> Phil Stahlman, 785.625.3425, <u>stahlman@ksu.edu</u> Corey Ransom, 435.797.2242, <u>corey.ransom@usu.edu</u>

Tony White, 573.248.2909, webmaster@wsweedscience.org

Phil Banks, 575.527.1888, wsws@marathonag.com

Tanya Skurski, tskurski@gmail.com

Tim Miller, 360.848.6138, twmiller@wsu.edu

### 2010 Annual Meeting in Waikoloa, HI

240 registered attendees

The program contained 176 total papers, including 67 posters, 80 volunteer papers, 4 talks at the general session, and 25 invited papers in two symposia on *Kochia scoparia* and invasive arid perennial grasses. Included in the program was the annual student paper competition that consisted of 19 student or oral presentations.

Phil Banks, Treasurer-Business Manager, continued to provide orientation sessions at the annual meeting for new members to WSWS and for newly elected Board members.

## **Future meetings:**

Doubletree City Center, Spokane, WA, March 7-10, 2011 Peppermill Resort, Reno, NV, 2012 Catamaran Resort and Hotel, San Diego, CA, 2013

### 2010 WSWS Annual Meeting, Waikoloa, HI:

Fellows: Tracy Sterling and Rick Arnold Presidential Award of Merit: Phil Motooka

Outstanding Weed Scientist: Public sector: Ian Burke

Outstanding Weed Scientist Private sector: Drew Lyon

Outstanding Early Career Weed Scientist:

Professional Staff: Cheryl Fiore

# **\$1000 Student Scholarships:**

Wilson V. Avila-Garcia, Oregon State University Mary Joy Abit, Kansas State University Jeremiah Mann, University of California-Davis

Submitted by Joe DiTomaso, WSWS President