» Committees » (E12) Herbicide Resistant Plants Committee

(E12) Herbicide Resistant Plants Committee

The Herbicide Resistant Plants Committee shall:

  1. Consist of a Chair appointed to a three-year term and eight other members, each appointed to a five-year term.
  2. Educate weed scientists and the scientific community as a whole about the nature, extent, and significance of herbicide resistance in weeds.
  3. Recommend research and education on the topic of herbicide resistance and resistance management in weeds. Provide leadership in research directions.
  4. Serve as an information resource for scientists and practitioners in the areas of confirmation, identification, and management of herbicide resistant weeds.
  5. Develop a list of scientists worldwide who will serve as corresponding members of this committee to aid in confirmation of the distribution of herbicide resistance.
  6. Develop and maintain a data bank of documented cases of herbicide resistance occurring worldwide.
  7. Promote action on herbicide resistance by sponsoring and encouraging symposia, workshops, and regularly published reports in appropriate journals.

Contact the chair (Dr. William Vencill): wvencill@uga.edu

Members Year
Rotate Off  
Vencill, W. K. (Chair) 2011 SWSS
Curran, W. S. 2012 NEWSS
Fischer, A. 2010 WSWS
Hutto, K. C. 2009 SWSS
Johnson, W. 2010 NCWSS
Nandula, V. 2012 SWSS
Perez-Jones, A. 2010 WSWS
Smeda, R. 2013 NCWSS
Stachler, J. M. 2012 NCWSS
Tardif, F. 2013 CWSS
This entry was posted in Committees.

Comments are closed.