2009 WSSA Committee Report to Members Summary for 2009 and Action Plan for 2010

Committee Code and Name: P2 – Weed Science

Committee Chair: W.K. Vencill

Board Coordinator: J. V. Anderson

Committee Members Rotating Off: Appropriate Replacements:

Steven Shirtliffe Fabian Menalled Gregory MacDonald Paul Watson New AEs will be recruited by the Editor William Vencill

2008 Summary of Activities

What were the committee's goals for 2009?

Review and publish submitted manuscripts in a competent and timely manner.

List the committee's accomplishments in 2009:

In 2009, 204 manuscripts were submitted to Weed Science. Three manuscripts were redirected to Invasive Plant Science and Management because their subject matters were more suitable to that journal. The average time for a manuscript to be in the review process (final acceptance or rejection) was 83 days in AllenTrack and has been 55 days in PeerTrack.

Weed Science journal continues to have high international stature. Manuscripts were submitted from 28 countries in 2009 (31 countries in 2008). The subject matter of manuscripts was Weed Biology and Ecology (59%), Weed Management (11%), Physiology/Chemistry/Biochemistry (15%), Symposium (4%), Soil/Air/Water (3%), Special Topics/Rapid Communication (6%), and Invited (3%).

The manuscript acceptance rate in 2009 was 50%, which is down from the 61% in 2008. The impact factor for Weed Science was 1.63 in 2008. This compares with 1.23, 1.29, 1.54, 1.48 and 1.31 for 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, and 2007, respectively. In comparison, the impact factor for Weed Research and Pest Management Science in 2008 was 1.79 and 2.04, respectively. According to the 2008/SI Journal Citation Reporter Rankings, Weed Science is 16/49 for Agronomy and 54/155 for Plant Science journals.

All accepted manuscripts are now posted on our website prior to printing. This speeds up the information dissemination process considerably.

In 2009, the manuscript submission process transitioned from AllenTrack to PeerTrack to improve the efficiency of manuscript submission. A decision to move from six issues to four was made by the Board of Directors at the July meeting as well as a decision to change the cover

to a four-color photograph. The membership will now receive one of the WSSA journals issue of the month with Weed Science distributed in January, April, July, and October.

What information was posted on the WSSA website?

Manuscript submission instructions.

How much funds were requested? How much was spent?

Editor's stipend.

What was the impact of the committee activities/accomplishments on the following: membership, publication, policy, legislation, and/or education?

Publication of scientific papers is a key activity of our society and is of benefit to numerous members.

What is the current state of the committee's projects and activities?

The transition to PeerTrack for manuscript submission has been completed and will be improved in the coming year. The number of issues has been reduced from six per year to four. A new four-color cover has been introduced beginning with Issue 1 in 2010.

2010 Plan for Committee Activities

Goals for 2010:

Make Weed Science the journal of first choice for weed scientists throughout the world

Plan of Action:

Promote Weed Science as a high quality journal to the international science community. Review and publish submitted manuscripts in a timely manner. Recruit new Associate Editors.

What is needed to further the goals of the committee/project?

Encourage all members to be active reviewers and to be timely in their reviews.

Recommendations for Board/Society Action:

Funds requested for 2010:

Editor's stipend.

Other requests for the Board:

Continue to recognize the dedicated work of the associate editors and reviewers.

Weed Science Associate Editors:

| NEWSS | SWSS | NCWSS |
|--|---|--|
| Hilary Sandler (2011) Bijay Singh (2012) Eric Gallandt (2012) | Greg MacDonald (2010) Vijay Nandula (2011) Franck Dayan (2012) Timothy Grey (2012) | Adam Davis (2010) Sharon Clay (2011) John Lindquist (2011) Pat Tranel (2011) Martin Williams (2011) Wun Chao (2012) John Gaskin (2012) |
| WSWS | CWSS | Other Countries |
| Fabian Menalled (2010) Sarah Ward (2010) Bill Dyer (2012) Roger Sheley (2012) | Paul Watson (2010) Steven Shirtliffe (2010) Stephen Murphy (2012) | Chris Preston (2012) |

^{*}The year in brackets denotes the year that they are due to rotate off this committee.