SWSS Representative to WSSA Report

2024 Officers

President - Todd Baughman <u>todd.baughman@okstate.edu</u> President Elect – Eric Palmer <u>eric.palmer@syngenta.com</u> Vice President – Shawn Askew <u>saskew@vt.edu</u> Past President – Eric Castner <u>eric.castner@fmc.com</u> Secretary-Treasurer - Hunter Perry <u>hunter.perry@corteva.com</u> Director at Large Academia – Charlie Cahoon <u>charlie_cahoon@ncsu.edu</u> Director at Large Industry – Adam Hixson <u>adam.hixson@basf.com</u> Director at Large Academia – David Russell <u>dpr0013@auburn.edu</u> Director at Large Industry – Matthew Wiggins <u>matthew.wiggins@fmc.com</u> Constitution and By Laws – Carroll Johnson <u>carroll@whitetailinstitute.com</u> Student Representative – TBD at annual meeting. Current rep is Mason Castner <u>mccastne@uark.edu</u> Editor – Te-Ming Paul Tseng tt1024@msstate.edu

Endowment Foundation – Connor Webster Endowment Foundation – Lawson Priess

Business Manager - Kelley Mazur kelley@imigroup.org

The 77th annual meeting of the Southern Weed Science Society will be a joint meeting with the Weed Science Society of America and will take place at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in San Antonio, TX January 22-25, 2022. Pre-registration including guests and freebies total 564. One hundred and ninety-one students registered. There are 506 numbered presentations and 517 total titles submitted (248 oral presentations and 226 posters). Wyman Meinzer, the "Official State Photographer of Texas" will provide a keynote address titled "Evolution of a Photographer and Author". We will have four outstanding symposia (Pesticide Registration, Current Standards and Regulations for the Assessment of Environmental Impacts of Pesticide Use in the United States; New Approaches to Herbicide and Bioherbicide Discovery; Adjuvants Matter: How New Technology and a Changing Marketplace are Creating New Opportunities for Inquiry and Advancement; and Herbicide Resistant Weeds: Identification, Documentation, and Regulation. Three graduate student events are planned (15-Minute Oral Paper Competition, Single-Slide Three Minute Competition, and a Poster Competition. Other graduate students include: Top Golf Graduate Student Mixer, Overcoming Hurdles in Graduate School, and the Quiz Bowl/Mixer. Three tours have been organized: Natural Bridge Caverns Tour, San Antonio Botanical Gardens Tour, and the Iron Cactus Tequila Tasting Tour.

Several members will be recognized as award recipients: Jason Norsworthy and Nilda Burgos both from the University of Arkansas will be recognized as Fellows; Tom Barber, University of Arkansas, will receive the Outstanding Educator Award; Pete Eure, Syngenta Crop Protection, will receive the Outstanding Young Weed Scientist from Industry Award; Tommy Butts, University of Arkansas, will receive the Outstanding Young Weed Scientist-Academia Award; Vipin Kumar, University of Virginia Tech will receive the Outstanding MS Graduate Student Award; Sarah Kezar, Texas A&M University, will receive the Outstanding Ph.D. Graduate Student Award; and Tom Mueller will rec, University of Tennessee, will receive the Excellence In Regulatory Award. Nineteen students from eight academic institutions applied for the SWSS Enrichment Experience in 2023. The following three students were selected and paired with their chosen sponsor: Navdeep Godara, Virginia Tech, was sponsored by Greg Elmore, Bayer CropScience; Annu Kumari, Auburn, was sponsored by Matthew Wiggins, FMC Corporation; and Cynthia Sias, Virginia Tech, was sponsored by James Holloway, Syngenta. Each of these students will give an overview of their experiences at the WSSA/SWSS joint meeting in San Antonio.

The National Weed Science competition was held in Union City, TN on July 25-27, 2023, and was hosted by Bayer Crop Science. Twenty-seven universities from the US and Canada were present. A total of 217 total contestants, 64 undergraduates and 153 graduate students, participated in the contest. Over 120 individuals served as volunteers to help make this contest a success. Numerous WSSA awards were given to graduate and undergraduate participants including First Place Team - Graduate (University of Arkansas - Jared Smith, Tristen Avent, Pamela Carvalho-Moore, Samuel Noe), First Place Individual – Graduate (Jared Smith), First Place Weed ID - Graduate (Jared Smith), First Place Team Sprayer Calibration - Graduate (Mississippi State – Kayla Broster, Antonio Tavares, Jake Patterson, Amy Wiber), and First Place Written Problems - Graduate (Tristen Avent). Numerous SWSS Awards were also given including First Place Unknown Herbicide Identification - Graduate (Tristen Avent and Jared Smith, tie) and First Place Problem Solving (Jared Smith).

The 2024 Southern Weed Conest will be in Blacksburg, VA and will be hosted by Virginia Tech. Nutrien is considering hosting in 2025 in Winterville, MS

Future SWSS annual meeting locations, hotels, dates:2025, Charleston Marriott, Charleston, SC2026, collecting bids from Nashville, Ashville, Lexington, and Chattanooga.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter A. Dotray SWSS Representative