

2024-2025 WSSA Standing Committee Report

Committee Name and Code: Awards Parent Committee W3

Committee Chair: Scott Senseman and Olivia Landau

Committee Members (includes sub-committee members):

Olivia Landau, Krishna Reddy, Eric Prostko, Peter Dotray, Greg MacDonald, Lynn Sosnoskie, Peter Dittmar, Nick Basinger, Mayank Malik, Gary Schwarzlose, Angela Post, Whitney Brim-DeForest, Chris Willenborg, Jay Ferrell, Bart Clewis, and Scott Senseman

Board of Directors Liaison: Ian Burke

Committee members rotating off and recommended replacements:

Scott Senseman and Angela Post are rotating off. Would suggest asking Dr. Amit Jhala, past award winner of the HRAC Award, to replace Scott Senseman as HRAC Award chair.

Summary of past year's activities including:

- Committee goals Nominate and award deserving people for WSSA Awards
- Committee accomplishments Successful in nominating and awarding deserving WSSA members (see below table).
- WSSA funds requested if any? None required
- Current state of the committee's projects or activities? Completed

Award	Recipient
Early Career Outstanding Scientist	Eric Patterson
Fellow	Anita Dille and Ramon G. Leon
Honorary Member	Gulshan Mahajan
Excellence in Journalism	Bruce Barker
Outstanding Extension	Peter Dotray
Outstanding Graduate Student	Navdeep Godara
Outstanding Industry	David Simpson
Outstanding Research	Marty Williams
Outstanding Teacher	Mithila Jugulam
Graduate Student Travel Awards	Nisith Nishank Purohit
	Preetaman Bajwa
	Danshi Het Desai
	Suzannah Hale
	Sara Kirby
	Patrice Sison
Herbicide Resistance Management	Jason Norsworthy
Outstanding Paper in Weed Science	Timothy Grey
Outstanding Paper in Weed Technology	Jason Bond
Outstanding Paper in Invasive Plant	Stephen Enloe
Science and Management	
Publication Board – Retiring Editors	Retiring Editors:
	Daniel Stephenson (Weed Technology)
	Michael Flessner (Weed Technology)
	Builiaume Fried (IPSM)
	James Leary (IPSM)
	Chelsea Carey (IPSM)
	Nicholas Basinger (Weed Science)
	Sharon Clay (Weed Science)
	Hilary Sandler (Weed Science)
	Mithila Jugulam (Weed Science)
	Outstanding Associate Editors:
	Jason Bond (Weed Technology)
	Timothy Grey (Weed Science)
	Stephen Enloe (IPSM)

• Any new information posted on the WSSA website? No

Summary of plans for next year (changes in goals, key initiatives, plan of action, etc.):

Continue with new chair, Olivia Landau

Recommendations for Board or Membership action (funds¹ or other requests): Make

sure that the Outstanding Industry Award gets a nomination. We had difficulty again this year but finally got a nomination and award winner.

¹If requesting funds, please fill out the WSSA Project Proposal Form and submit at the same time as the WSSA Committee Report.