

WSSA Standing Committee Report

Committee Name and Code: Early Career Outstanding Scientist Subcommittee – W3h

Committee Chair: Mayank Malik

Committee Members (includes sub-committee members): Lovreet Shergill, Peter

Sikkema, Roger Batts, Steven Mirsky, Vipan Kumar

Board of Directors Liaison:

Committee members rotating off: Peter Sikkema, Roger Batts

Recommended members to replace those rotating off:

Charles Geddes, Breanne Tidemann, Francois Tardiff- Ian Burke will let the committee

know who was finally elected.

Summary of past year's activities including:

• Committee goals

Select the nominated WSSA members for Early Career Outstanding Scientist Award

• Committee accomplishments (impact of activities on membership, publications, policy, education, other, etc.)

Successful in receiving a great pool of 6 nominations for this award. All applications were great and highly impactful. There was a very little difference among winner and other applicants.

Award Recipient – Dr. Eric Patterson

• WSSA funds requested if any?

None

• Current state of the committee's projects or activities?

Completed

• Any new information posted on the WSSA website?

None

Summary of plans for next year (changes in goals, key initiatives, plan of action, etc.):

- Continue getting great nominations to have a good pool of candidates for this award
- Encourage the 2024 applicants to apply again as all the nominations received were great.

Recommendations for Board or Membership action:

• Ensure the consistency in application deadline dates. The dates were different at website and award document