## 2020 WSSA Standing Committee Report

Committee Name and Code: Professional Development and Membership Committee, F4

Committee Chair: Mayank Malik

Committee Members (includes sub-committee members):

Malik, Mayank Calvin Odero Nevin Lawrence Tseng, Te-Ming Paul Cara McCauley Byron Sleugh Steve Li Gregory Dahl

Board of Directors Liaison:

President: William Curran

Committee members rotating off and recommended replacements:

Rotating Off:

Calvin Odero, Nevin Lawrence

New committee members

Pete Eure, Daljit Singh

## RESTRICTED

Summary of past year's activities including:

- Committee goals
  - Evaluate ways to encourage participation of more graduate students in WSSA meetings.
  - Encourage more students to apply for the WSSA Graduate Student Travel Award and Travel Enrichment Experience
- Committee accomplishments

Committee was given a new responsibility to select the winners Travel Enrichment Experience (TEE) awards. However, due to COVID-19 restrictions, the program moved to 2021 season. The top 5 students that are selected will be visiting hosts in 2021 assuming COVID-19 is no longer a threat. In addition to this, a new class of TEE award winners will also be selected in 2021. All the winners for 2020 and 2021 programs will be visiting hosts in 2021. The committee reviewed 16 applications for 2020 program. The top 5 students for 2020 TEE program are

Name	Status	University/Region	
Bishwa B. Sapkota	PhD	Texas A&M/SWSS	
Nick Hurdle	PhD	Univ. of Georgia/SWSS	
Delaney Caitlin Foster	MS	Texas Tech/SWSS	
Eric Oseland	PhD	Univ. of Missouri/NCWSS	
Chandrima Shyam	PhD	Kansas State	

The second responsibility that the committee has got is to select the winners for WSSA Graduate Student travel awards. Since, the WSSA meeting is virtual this year, the award will cover registration fee for 2021 WSSA meeting and one-year WSSA membership. The committee received only 4 applications. All applications were great, so committee decided to award all the 4 students. The 4 students receiving the WSSA graduate student travel award are:

## RESTRICTED

Name of Student	Affiliation	Email
McKenzie Barth	Texas A&M University	mbarth@tamu.edu
Issac Effertz	Kansas State University	ieffertz@ksu.edu
Matthew Kutugata	Texas A&M University	mattkutugata@tamu.edu
Usha Rani Pedireddi	Texas A&M University	usha_pedireddi@tamu.edu

• Impact of committee activities/accomplishments on membership, publications, policy, education, other, etc.

Selected the students for Travel Enrichment Experience and Graduate Student Travel awards

• WSSA funds requested if any?

None

• Current state of the committee's projects or activities?

In 2020 meeting, the key point of discussion was the activities that this committee can do for the professional development of scientists and students besides selecting the six graduate student travel awards and Travel Enrichment Experience. The idea was to have the professional development webinars. This could not be done in 2020 due to COVID-19 pandemic.

• Any new information posted on the WSSA website?

The information regarding call for applications for the Travel Enrichment Experience and

Graduate Student travel awards was posted on website

Summary of plans for next year (changes in goals, key initiatives, plan of action, etc.):

Continue the plan for 2020, which could not be accomplished in 2020 due to COVID-19.

- <u>Plan of Action</u>: Organize:
  - 1. Webinar on professional development for new incoming weed scientists

## RESTRICTED

2. Webinar for students on how to prepare for Industry jobs and jobs in academia

Recommendations for Board or Membership action (funds or other requests):

Help and guidance on conducting professional development webinars. May need some funds for professional development webinar speakers.

