

WSSA Standing Committee Report

Committee Name and Code: Undergraduate Research Award, W3k

Committee Chair: Whitney Brim-DeForest

Committee Members (includes sub-committee members): Committee composition can be found at (<u>WSSA Committee Roster</u>).

Brim-DeForest, Whitney MacDonald, Greg Lawrence, Nevin Tseng, Paul Kumari, Annu Galvin, Liberty

Board of Directors Liaison: Ian Burke

Committee members rotating off and recommended replacements:

None in 2025, several rotating off in 2026.

Summary of past year's activities including:

- Committee goals: Awarding the 2025 Undergraduate Research Awards
- Committee accomplishments
 - Impact of committee activities/accomplishments on membership, publications, policy, education, other, etc.
 - 5 undergraduate research awards selected for 2025
- WSSA funds requested if any?
 - \$10,000 for scholarships awarded to the Undergraduate Research Recipients.
- Current state of the committee's projects or activities?

- Awards selected for 2025
- Any new information posted on the WSSA website?

Summary of plans for next year (changes in goals, key initiatives, plan of action, etc.): *No changes in goals or initiatives for 2026.*

Recommendations for Board or Membership action (funds¹ or other requests):

¹If requesting funds, please fill out the WSSA Project Proposal Form and submit at the same time as the WSSA Committee Report.